An Interesting Writer’s Dictonary

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.”

~Joss Whedon

Jean-Michel-Labat-Ancient-writing

As most writers know, one of the most important things as a writer is the ability to twist words and language to create a journey. Sometimes it’s all about using simple language to create beautiful writing or prose. For example:

“We have become wild beasts. We do not fight, we defend ourselves against annihilation. It is not against men that we fling our bombs, what do we know of men in this moment when Death is hunting us down–now, for the first time in three days we can see his face, now for the first time in three days we can oppose him; we feel a mad anger. No longer do we lie helpless, waiting on the scaffold, we can destroy and kill, to save ourselves, to save ourselves and be revenged.”

~All Quiet on the Western Front

Each word by itself is simple enough, but together it creates a powerful message that can resonate with it’s readers. But sometimes, writing needs complexion. Sometimes you need to use words that cause the reader uncertainty or create a deeper emotion. So here are 16 words from my own personal dictionary.

 

There’s one last word I would like to share. It’s not a “real” word, not by any dictionary’s standard (unless you can prove me otherwise), but someone came up with it and I thought it was a beautiful concept.

sounder

I really love these words, to me they are poetry compressed into a single word.

Leave a Reply

