Valentines Day

“And in the end,
we we were all just
humans,
drunk on the idea
that love,
only love,
could heal
our brokenness.”
~Christopher Poindexter

Reaching out for Love by Kjherstin

So today is Valentines Day.

Before I go any farther with this post, I want to tell you a small story.

This morning I woke up to find a beautiful card and some chocolates on the kitchen table. The card read: “Happy Valentines Day, sweetie! I’m so proud of you! Love, Mom.” Later that day, my good friend, Kari, handed me a small card and a chocolate. It was one of those pun cards and read, “What did the baker say to his wife…. I’m donuts for you.” As the day wore on I got more and more gifts here and there “Happy V-day, M!”, “Maya, you’re amazing!”, “To my missing 1/4th.” 

I’m single.

The one thing that really bothers me about Valentines Day are the people who complain.

Valentines Day is a chance for you to show people you care about that you love them.

It doesn’t mean that if you’re single you have to binge on chocolate ice cream and watch chick flicks all night. It doesn’t mean if you’re dating/married/etc. you HAVE to buy your significant other fancy jewelry or a gold watch. It’s about finding a way to show you care. If you’re single, perhaps make some cards. Glue and heart stickers go a long way. If you’re “taken” do something together, weather going to a football game or sitting down to a candle light dinner.

Valentines Day is just another day in life. The only difference is, it give people the opportunity to actually do something special.

So whether single, taken, or “it’s complicated,” it doesn’t matter, show someone you care.

Thanks to Kjherstin

Leave a Reply

