Life Lessons

“I’m considered wise, and sometimes I see myself as knowing. Most of the time, I see myself as wanting to know. And I see myself as a very interested person. I’ve never been bored in my life”

~Maya Angelou

4976190677_343ccb5965_z

One of my favorite things in class is learning life lessons, to me that is more important than anything else. To me, learning the in’s and out’s of life is more important than finding π(Csc40)=x (though perhaps that’s because I’ve never been a trigonometry fan). So when I have friends or peers asking for my advice or asking for a life lesson that I can leave behind, it makes me feel special (and honored).

So here are a few pieces of wisdom from The Ink Menagerie:

1) As corny as it sounds, find what makes you happy.

When talking to my fellow high school seniors, I’m not talking about find the “right” career path. I’m talking about now. If worrying about college and the right career and everything else stresses you out, then worry about that once you graduate. Find something you love doing and do it now. For me, I found theatre. I’m happier than I’ve ever been since I joined last year.

2) Respect is a two way street.

This goes for anyone in a place of power: parents, teachers, older siblings, bosses, anyone. For example, if you are a parent and you expect respect from your child, remember that they deserve respect too. If you know they are studying for midterm exams, maybe take out the trash for them or leave a candy bar on the table. Or if you’re a teacher, extend that 300 point, it-took-three-weeks-to-complete, project due date to Friday instead of Wednesday because you know you won’t even bother looking at the things until Saturday anyway.

3)You don’t know until you try it.

This should probably become my catchphrase, I say it so often. Whether an activity, food, or experience, try it out before saying no. Who knows what you might learn when you try new things. And hey, if you try it and you don’t like it, you never have to do/eat it ever again. One of my greatest accomplishments last year was getting one of my pickiest friends (who ate pretty much nothing but chicken and bread) to try lamb. She loved it and it made me feel awesome because it meant I helped expand someones horizons (which doesn’t seem like much, but feels amazing).

4) Make sure your life isn’t stagnant, explore.

One of the biggest problems I have (and have witnessed) is being bored. Each day I wake up, go to school, eat, sleep, repeat. It’s not just me either, that goes for a lot of people. Get out and do something different. Skip school (or work) for a day and take a road trip, every country and state in the world has something interesting. Try being a tourist in your very own city. For example, I live a couple hours away from the La Brea Tar Pits. I’ve been there plenty of times but most of my classmates haven’t been there once (and they’ve lived in California way longer than I have). Or, do something as simple as making something new for dinner. Have you every had something cooked in a tagine? No? Now’s your chance to try it out.

Anyway, those are (just) four life lessons (out of many) that I can pass on to you. They are important to me and I try to live by them. That doesn’t mean you have to live by them, though. In fact, you can click the ‘exit’ tab and forget all about them. I just hope that it will make you think about your life and your choices.

Leave a Reply

